League Cup Odds

2005 Carling Cup Winners - Chelsea

Liverpool 2-3 Chelsea

Jose Mourinho kick-started a new era at Chelsea as the Blues beat Liverpool 3-2 in a thrilling Carling Cup final. John Arne Riise got Liverpool off to the perfect start when he volleyed them into the lead after just 45 seconds. The cup looked to be going back to Merseyside under Liverpool skipper Steven Gerrard scored an agonising 79th-minute own goal.

Didier Drogba and Mateja Kezman each scored in extra-time to put Chelsea 3-1 ahead. Antonio Nunez got Liverpool straight back in it but Chelsea held onto win a pulsating final. Chelsea also went on to win the Premier League for the first time since 1955.

Chelsea Road To Cardiff

  • Semi Final Second Leg: Man Utd 1-2 Chelsea
  • Semi Final First Leg: Chelsea 0-0 Man Utd
  • Quarter-final: Fulham 1-2 Chelsea
  • Round Four: Newcastle 0-2 Chelsea
  • Round Three: Chelsea 1-0 West Ham

Liverpool Road To Cardiff

  • Semi Final Second Leg: Watford 0-1 Liverpool
  • Semi Final First Leg: Liverpool 1-0 Watford
  • Quarter-final: Tottenham 1-1 Liverpool (Liverpool won 4-3 on penalties)
  • Round Four: Liverpool 2-0 Middlesbrough
  • Round Three: Millwall 0-3 Liverpool